research
kids
teens
about us
ask us
myBethlehem.org
downloadables
jobs at the library
privacy statement
 
 Saturday, July 31 •  10am to 5pm   
 

google web search

contact us:

451 Delaware Ave
Delmar, NY 12054
(518) 439-9314

directions


library's hours:

Monday - Friday:
  9am - 9pm
Saturday:
  10am - 5pm
Sunday:
  1pm - 5pm

(closed Sundays in July & August)

holidays & closings


last updated:
Thursday, July 15, 2010
databases A-Z

databases by subject
Ancestry - library edition (in-library only)
Primary source documents and images, census records, Passenger & Immigration Lists Index, Social Security Index, Biography and Genealogy Master Index. Funded by: bpl

Auto Repair Reference Center
Database content includes more than 33,100 vehicles covered from 1945 to present. Funded by: bpl

Business and Company ASAP
Providing researchers with information on companies, markets and industries. From market trends, mergers and acquisitions to current management theory and company overviews. Funded by: novel

Business and Company Resource Center
Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Funded by: novel

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
Over 150,000 full-text, searchable, adult-level reviews of children's books, plus award citations and booklist appearances. Funded by: bpl

Custom Newspapers (articles from 100+ papers; NYT: 1/1/1995-; Times Union: 1986- )
Full-text newspapers from New York State, the U.S., and the U.K. Search by title, headine, date, author or section. Funded by: novel

Grolier Online
This resource includes these encyclopedia databases: Encyclopedia America, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, The New Book of Knowledge, America the Beautiful, Lands and Peoples, and The New Book of Popular Science. This link is for BPL cardholders only. All others, use www.uhls.org/new/databases.asp. Funded by: bpl

Health Reference Center Academic
Funded by: novel

HeritageQuest
US Census records from 1790-1930, full text of 25,000+ family and local history books, index of 1.6 million genealogy and local history articles, selected Revolutionary War records. Funded by: bpl

Journals-professional
Over 12.000 journals and reference sources, many peer-reviewed and full-text. Extensive coverage of physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, theology, literature and more. Funded by: novel

Kids Search reference
An easy way for students to search by keyword or by topic. Results can be easily sorted by source type - -magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc.

Legal Forms
Provides a wide selection of state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms across the most popular legal areas. Funded by: uhls

Literary Reference Center
This is a comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Funded by: bpl

Magazines and more
Over 12,000 periodicals, newspapers, reference books and multimedia sources, majority full-text. Subjects include humanities, education, environment, technology, health care, politics and more. 30-year backfile. Funded by: novel

Mango
Interactive language learning system that offers basic and intermediate conversation courses and ESL instruction. Funded by: bpl

National Newspaper Index (citations from 5 major US papers)
Indexes of America's top five newspapers: New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post. Funded by: novel

New York Times, Historical:1851-2005 (in-library only)
Full text and full-image articles for all issues from 1851-2005. Funded by: bpl

NoveLists (includes all material from NoveList K-8 except Teacher Resource)
NoveList, a readers' advisory service, offers a wide range of resources that will expand your ability to find the right book. Funded by: bpl

ReferenceUSA
Business and residential telephone numbers and addresses; information on over 11 million US business. Funded by: uhls

Testing & Education Reference Center
Use this database to research thousands of post-secondary schools. Scholarship opportunities, test-preparation tools and online practice exams are also provided. Funded by: uhls

Times Union (now included in Custom Newspapers)
Archives of most locally written stories published since 1986. Funded by: novel

Twayne's Author Series
Literary criticism for high school and college students; contains full text of the 600 books in U.S., English and World Authors series. Funded by: novel



 

Databases are online library subscriptions to selected encyclopedias, dictionaries, newspapers, magazines, and specialized publications.


To access our databases from home, you will need a valid library card.

  • Bethlehem residents with a Bethlehem Public Library (bpl) card may access all databases, except as noted.
  • Patrons with a card from one of the other libraries in the Upper Hudson Library System (uhls) may access databases provided by UHLS and New York Online Virtual Educational Library (novel).